Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: mold makers rent a car... is this cheap?

mold makers rent a car... is this cheap?

http://stores.ebay.com/DFW-Elite

I'd be willing to pay a day of rental for a gallardo or aston martin heck even a viper to make some molds of one. how long does it take to make molds? and are those prices even worth it?

Re: mold makers rent a car... is this cheap?

A GROUP RENT ME THINKS. At least 2 weeks hire at a guess. I remember reading a thread with regards to someone wanting to do this on the sly with his mates or boss's car. Is it as easy as it sounds though??? :-\ :-\ :-\

Doesn't sound like a bad idea; although you might want to budget in the cost to repaint the car. I've never done this before, but I can imagine taking the molds could cause some paint damage.

Quote Originally Posted by RHK
    Doesn't sound like a bad idea; although you might want to budget in the cost to repaint the car. I've never done this before, but I can imagine taking the molds could cause some paint damage.
    it can, but if you prep and wax the car good, and tape over some edges I think the paint will be fine. I've seen it done on a race car for carbon fiber parts and was like wow, they made the part in a matter of hours (mold that is). I'm currently reading anything I can about whats best to use. I might try to make some simple parts first, just to make a mold of anything at the moment to see if it can be done at my skill level. You never want to get in over your head ya know.

its been a few years now, but I saw a guy advertise 3d foam cutting with a laser (full scale) from a model or toy. It was on kitcar.com. I dont remember the guys name (maybe some one else remembers) but it would be cheaper than renting an exotic for a few weeks.

This has been discussed before with advice given from some of the manufacturers about techniques, I cant find the thread at the moment though!