Thread: Where to buy kit car?

Where to buy kit car?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the kit car scene.
    Where is a good place to look at buying a turn-key or almost completed car?
    Thanks for any help,
    Shawn

Re: Where to buy kit car?

Quote Originally Posted by First VR4
    Thanks for any help,
    Shawn
    Your best bet for a CHEAP almost-complete or never-started kit is eBay...plenty of good deals. just be patient and keep your options open.

There are some turn-key replicars also but ALL OF THEM are overpriced on eBay...It also depends what kind of turn-key you are looking for. You need to define your needs a little better!

VK
    Life is too short to be driving Hondas!

Every few years I do a new build for myself on a kit car. I usually sell my current kit car on e-bay. People get great deals from me there because I put premium features on the cars and do all the work myself. I enjoy driving the cars so I don't try to recoup all of my labor costs. It's a "win, win" for me and the buyer since the cars sell quickly so I can move on to the next project. There are some good deals there and obviously some crappy poorly finished and unfinished projects as well. Since most kits are more "exotic" than a production car it would be in your best interest to personally check out the car before bidding or if it's just physically impossible to do that have a company like Carchex do a physical inspection and give you a report on it's condition. I've had those reports done on my wife's Jaguar and a convertible I picked up for my daughter. They saved me many thousands of dollars by letting me negotiate a better price with the owner for the "problems" that weren't mentioned. If you decide to buy a turn-key directly from a manufacturer I would go see his operations and negotiate payments with the company as the car is built. Never pre-pay for the whole project and try to deal with companies that are established in the kit car community.