Thread: IR Camera in kitcar

IR Camera in kitcar

Ok, this is a bit of a daydream for me but I have seen that the new Merc S class has many cool toys; massaging seat, intelligent cruise control and intelligent braking (it breaks with the least amount of discomfort for the occupants by judging the distance etc) but what I thought I could include is the night vision screen it turns the speedometer into in the dark. My wife managed to 'bag' a deer a few months ago (they leave a HUGE dent believe me!) and like the idea of being able to see as much as possible now on the road.

I'm thinking of putting a DVD / screen based music system into my DNA (double DIN space in the MRS) and like the idea of adding a pod on the dash as a screen. I've never done this before but I'm guessing that these monitors have multiple inputs to take something from say a reversing camera etc.

I've looked on fleabay and seen that there are quite a number of IR cameras available with inbuilt IR LEDs for cheap (some under $100) and some also seem to be 12v. Most of the fleabay cameras tend to be security cameras though (the cheap ones)

Anyone know how these things work or rather what to look for and what sort of image I can expect? Two things worry me, the image fed in - will the LEDs really be able to see more than my headlights? and will the camera be able to capture a big enough depth of field so I don't just end up with lots of blur (I guess I'm worried about the focal length).

Got any pointers on this daydream? :P

Re: IR Camera in kitcar

You will find that most of the IR cameras are only good for 15 or at best 30 feet. Let's not pretend that your reaction times are that good, let alone could you stop or turn the car. You will also have that not looking forward thing.

I have found blind spot and rear view cameras to be useful.

I wasn't thinking of just using it on its own, more a supplementary view.