Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question... What engine & Exhaust will sound most like the original V-12...

Question... What engine & Exhaust will sound most like the original V-12...

Hi guys, I will be having a Murci replica built for me soon. I am still undecided on the Fiero chassis or the tube chassis still.

What I was wondering is (I am not an engine expert in any means) if I was looking for an engine that will put out 400Hp ... what engine replacement would be best recommended and with what exhaust to sound most like the real deal?

And with that what chassis would you all recommend to go along with it?

I look forward to all your responses.

Regards,

MURCenary 8)

Re: Question... What engine & Exhaust will sound most like the original V-12...

If you can afford it then i would say tube chassis with the BMW 5.0L V12

How about the GM LS2? Will this get me close to waht I want without the cost of a V12?

To me there is nothing like the sound of a V12. (Especially at high RPMs) Even the latest F1 V10s do not sound as good. To date, I have only seen two ways to get "that V12 tearing silk sound." First, is to use a V12.(Obviously) Forget the English attempts of V12'dom and think German. The Mercedes V12s are great, but outlandishly expensive. Maybe you can find a SL600 engine somewhere. The other choice is the tried and true BMW V12. Junk yards almost give them away. The hard part is not finding them, nor paying more than $500, but the electrics. The only other ways to get that sound is to fake it via digital means. A little computer hooked up the distributor that generates the sound and sends it to some speakers in the trunk. Sure, this is the silly way, but we are building "fake" cars anyways. There was a company called VroomBox that build this thing for awhile, but they seem to be out of business. I have been sending them emails for over two years. I was hoping that Riceburner would tackle this project next.