Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: im a noob at this

im a noob at this

im not entirely sure if this is in the right spot, but im sure someone can move it to the right spot afterwords. i am 16, and i really like sports cars, i mean who doesn't? but my parents say that it is too expensive to buy one, but i was wondering if it would be cheaper to make a junk car into a very sporty car. so i have a few questions:

1.) is it cheaper then buying the (sports)car (new or used), then re-making it?

2.) aprox. how long does it take to make a kit car?

3.) aprox. how much does it cost to make a sports car from a junk car?

4.) is the insurence going to be higher? (im pretty sure it will be)

5.) is it possible to just buy a body kit and throw it on a junk car?

6.) do you think that a 16 year old, and his dad can do this? or will we need professional help?

7.) if we need help, how much does it normally cost?

8.) is it worth putting all the time into it?

9.) can you make a convertible easily? if its not easily, is it possible to make with out major problems?

10.) is it possible to make a hard top convertible?

Thank you for taking the time to read all of this, and i greatly appreciate it.

Re: im a noob at this

kit cars cost $40- $80 thousand to build and id not recomended for anyone with little tech skills. try buying an old mustang or camaro. and hotrod it. after youve done that youll of aquired tools,skills and can sell the car for a profit to further seek your goals

thanks, and how should i start out? with a beat up mustang body? or would it be better to start out with something cheaper?

how much do you have to start out with, and how much worse case senerio can you put into it a week. if you answer this honestly youll get a good answer

right now not much, maybe 10,000 tops. i don't have school til the 3rd and have nothing to do til then, once school starts maybe an hour a day with like 3-4 hrs on weekend.