Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Open EV thread. Ideas, debates, questions, all good here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Open EV thread. Ideas, debates, questions, all good here.

I am by no means an expert on electric vehicles. But I feel I've done enough research to guide my personal build. So with that little disclaimer out of the way, let's transfer the discussion started on the tesla thread over here.

Like the title says, all EV related curiosities, quandries, questions, confrontations, concepts and conflicts are welcome here.

Personally, I take the stance that EV's can save you money in the long run. Eventually we won't have a choice anyways, so the sooner we start looking into it the better. Plus it's possible to do a monster EV build that'll go toe to toe with the italians.
    I bleed styrene, bathe in acetone, and sparkle like a Cullen in the sunlight.

I'll start with a monster that makes my build idea look like an afx slot car.

The Rimac concept-1
    Attached Files

Comment

Cows chasing RC's also welcome here.
      Last edited by trukr; 06-28-2013, 01:49 AM.

Comment

EV primer

A little primer on the EV stuff.

DC motors are the go to motor for the DIY guys. They use brushes that need to be replaced periodically. Regenerative braking is not really an option. The system of choice for power on a realistic budget. Very good available options for controllers.

AC motors are the engineers darling. The choice of OEM's. No brushes, so no wear items to maintain. Regenerative braking capable. Higher efficiencies. Fewer options with conroller/inverters. Huge jump in budget to get to the power set ups. It's the way to go to get the most efficient car possible. Then you get obsessed with efficiency, weight, rolling resistance, aerodynamics blah, blah, blah. You end up with a car on bicycle tires that looks like a wind turbine with the prop missing.