The life of fiberglass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The life of fiberglass

I am relatively new to this kit car idea. I have a question that some of you might think that I am stupid for not knowing, but I am going to ask anyway. I see some older kits (5-6yrs old) say alot that the car has stress cracks. How long should a kit car last? I do understand there are a lot of variables about how the car is taken care of. I guess what I am asking, is the fiberglass something that needs a lot more extra care? Or is this something that can be because of the company that made the fiberglass? Anyone have any comments? I am not looking for an old one, I would like to buy a new turn key but was wondering if the $25-$35,000 investment was only going to last a few years. One other question I had was, is it it worth the extra money to have a new frame built or is that just kind of a prestige thing? Thanks for your input!! I did ask this question in the technical section but didn't get any response so I am trying it again here.

Re:The life of fiberglass

hello and welcome to the forum... no question is stupid.. Stress cracks in fiberglass will happen no matter who makes the parts but a fiberglass car should last a lifetime, just look at the early corvettes. Of course stress cracks can be minimize by good body design and good contruction. That being said, you can take the same car, say a lambo or a f355 and have 3 different fiberglass companys build you a replica and what you find is that each one will develope stress cracks differently. This is becasue of several reaasons, material thickness, sharp edges versus radii edges, how the panel is supported and how much flexablility the panel will see. One thing that is a plus, is that fiberglass can be repaired so even if you did buy a car with a stress crack, its not a total loss. I would suggest trying to figure out and eliminate why the crack occured.

Comment